Posted in All Blog Posts, Events

You’re Not Awkward Enough: Losing the Awkward Author Photo Contest

So is it an insult or a compliment when someone votes that you’re not quite awkward enough? I had the privilege to be part of the Awkward Author Photo Contest on Chuck Wendig’s blog, terribleminds and ended up in fifth place out of the 63 participants. It was so fun, reading the comments left by the voters. I really appreciated the votes I received. The competition was fierce and downright hilarious!

I wanted to give a shout out to some of my personal favorites!

#12: First, I hope those cherries weren’t in their own juice, because I could only imagine how hard it would be to get that stain out of your clothes. This picture kind of looks like it could be a Twilight parody cover. Love the addition of the cherry bucket and the feet of the photographer.

#14: You deserved to win, this picture is downright hilarious. Your facial expression says it all. Totally awkward! (P. S. The aforementioned statement is meant as a compliment.)

#21: You get some genius points in my book for that fantastic photo. It reminded me of Through the Looking-Glass.

#25: I voted for you. Your suit is the best. I cannot believe you only got two votes — such injustice. You reminded me of a crude handyman from Bioshock Infinite. Well done!

#28: This was just awesome. You looked like you were in the early stages of zombification. I was also intrigued by the flashlight/ray-gun thing in your hands.

#30: I laughed out loud when I saw this. Chuck’s commentary didn’t help with my giggling fit. I really want to know where this mural is now.

#33: Because, who wouldn’t lick a kitchen knife/dagger like that? Nice touch with the spice rack in the background.

#36: Your face was priceless in this photo. Where is the Arguments Yard? I need to look this up.

#43: I love your hair.

#44: How is it possible to be that handsome and that awkward at the same time? This is sheer awesomeness.

#45: I feel as if you were both caught in the middle of singing the rousing “Fishy, Fishy” anthem.

#49: I felt a bit like I was being scolded. Nonetheless, the blurry, off-center snootiness just added to the wonderfulness of this photo.

#50: This crazy photo reminded me of the BABYMETAL song, “Doki Doki☆Morning.”

#52: The child of a failed, big hair band rocker and one of Edgar Allen Poe‘s descendants.

#54: Chuck’s caption for this photo was perfect. I laughed so loud I scared my husband.

#57: Cyclops cat! YES!

#60: This photo was totally underrated. It was hilarious and totally awkward! Good stuff!

I think all the contestants did well with this challenge. I am looking forward to more challenges Chuck comes up with, as I am sure they will prove to be just as funny.

Congrats to the winners and here is to future hilarity!

Author:

L. N. Holmes is the author of SPACE, COLLISIONS (Ghost City Press). Her stories have appeared in Barren Magazine, Newfound, Vestal Review, F(r)iction, and several other publications. A native of Ohio, she currently lives in Nebraska.

Leave a comment