A Vase of Wildflowers

I'm a writer because I have stage fright.

Causes, Cares, and Charities: The End of the World

So this is more of a care than a cause or a charity (definitely not a charity). My regular readers might know of my love of dystopian and end-of-the-world fiction. I love everything from the classics like War of the Worlds and Brave New World to newer stuff like The Hunger Games and Find Me.

While I am not really worried about the world ending, I do support people learning survival skills and practicing homesteading. I think these things are practical, for protection of yourself and the earth, and, personally, I wish I knew more about these subjects. I am moving in that direction by gardening and learning how to reuse materials in creative ways. Still, there is always more to learn.

Recently, I’ve been watching Doomsday Preppers on Netflix with my husband. I’ve learned quite a few tricks from the best worriers in the world. Many of the preppers teach others to prepare for disaster and violence, which I think is pretty cool. There is a woman who taught a whole community of women self-defense, for example. Many of the people and families featured are obsessed with their preparations to the point that it has become an everyday ritual to store food and practice drills.

As a Christian, I’ve learned not to worry about tomorrow. There is a certain level of practical preparation, like saving for retirement and preparing for natural disasters that affect your area. However, no one can predict the end.

“But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.” Matthew 24:36 (NIV)

The end of the world is something that may or may not happen in my lifetime. Either way there is little I can do to change it. All I can do is try to take care of the world that God has given us and protect the ones I love to the best of my ability. But God has everything under control.

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?” Matthew 6:25-27 (NIV)

It may be the end of the world as we know it, but I feel fine. Faith, hope, love, and peace my friends!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2015 by in and Charities, Cares, Causes and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
