I’ve Been Nominated for The Liebster Award!

award, blog, writing, writer, fun, community

A few days ago, the kind Brandon Scott of Coolerbs Reviews nominated me for the Liebster Award. It’s a very cool, community-building, “chain letter” award that allows bloggers to be recognized and to recognize others. I’m all for creating community, so I thank Brandon and am excited to feature other bloggers!


Unfamiliar with this award? So was I. Here are the official rules:

The Official Rules Of The Liebster Award

If you have been nominated for The Liebster Award AND YOU CHOOSE TO ACCEPT IT, write a blog post about the Liebster award in which you:

1. thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog.

2. display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”. (Note that the best way to do this is to save the image to your own computer and then upload it to your blog post.)

3. answer 11 questions about yourself, which will be provided to you by the person who nominated you.

4. provide 11 random facts about yourself.

5. nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 1000 followers. (Note that you can always ask the blog owner this since not all blogs display a widget that lets the readers know this information!)

6. create a new list of questions for the blogger to answer.

7. list these rules in your post (You can copy and paste from here.) Once you have written and published it, you then have to:

8. Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it (they might not have ever heard of it!)


So, let’s begin with the eleven questions from Brandon.

  1. If you can remember, what was the first blog that you really got into?I am unsure if it is the first blog I “really got into,” but the first blog I read quite often was Chuck Wendig’s terribleminds. I was impressed with the amount of content he could generate while simultaneously focusing on his writing projects. Also, most of his posts are entertaining and/or hilarious. I am not a fan of cussing, but despite this I find his posts to be helpful a lot of times for motivational and informational purposes. I also really enjoy some of the flash fiction challenges he gives to readers.
  2. If anything, what do you write besides blog articles?Fiction, nonfiction, and occasionally poetry and songs. As far as fiction I write flash, short stories, and novel-length works. I have a much wider range when it comes to my nonfiction: memoirs, essays, feature articles, news articles, research articles, and opinion articles. I also write book reviews. When it comes to my poetry, I like stuff that rhymes. My songs are mostly mediocre.
  3. If you could tell yourself one year ago a single sentence, what would it be?You are about to experience the best year of your life thus far.
  4. What is your favorite genre to read/watch?Dystopian, hands down. I like some sci-fi, some fantasy, but not all. I dabble in literary fiction and nonfiction if I like the writing style. I am a huge fan of magical realism and am trying to write some of that myself.
  5. Have you ever been paid for anything you’ve written?Yes, quite a few times.
  6. Which weather would you prefer, too hot, or too cold?Too hot! Beaches and sun all day.
  7. What is your favorite poem?“The Raven” by Edgar Allen Poe.
  8. If you were only remembered for one quote, what would you want it to be?“Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” —Romans 12:2
  9. Where do you write your blog articles? Do you write in an office? A recliner? At a coffee shop? Somewhere else?I write in an office, a recliner, a restaurant, in the passenger seat of a car, or anywhere I have a second to write. I may write blog articles or numerous other things.
  10. What is your favorite blog article you’ve written?If I were being honest, I’d have to say a blog post discussion about genre. You can read it here.
  11. How do you feel about the Oxford Comma?I feel as if the Oxford Comma is necessary, tidy, and a preventative of confusion.

Eleven random facts about myself:

  1. When I find a new food that I enjoy I get way too excited about it.
  2. I’ve been to Haiti and speak a tiny bit of Creole.
  3. I’ve named my car Heathcliff.
  4. I was an ambassador at the RiverRun International Film Festival.
  5. In high school, I played volleyball year-round (school team, club ball, summer league).
  6. I’ve memorized and can recite every word of Jeremiah 29:11 and Romans 12:2 all of the time and John 3:16 and Psalm 23:4 most of the time.
  7. My cats will destroy everything in my house if I don’t feed them on time.
  8. I didn’t become addicted to coffee until after I finished my undergraduate studies.
  9. Some of my best friends are writers, but my best-friend-forever-basically-a-sister is terrible with grammar and spelling. She’s great at finding plot holes, though!
  10. Some of the best times of my life were on road trips with my aunt, grandma, and mom.
  11. I love exploring any wooded area.

Now for the nominations! There are many blogs that I follow and love. Here are just a few worth nominating:

Write, Love, Breathe
This is the writing blog of Stephanie Wooten Koreneff, my excellent and skilled friend. The current novel she is working on is exciting, subversive, and contains excellent social commentary. I’d highly recommend you follow her on her journey to publication.

Barbara Sostaita
This amazing woman is one of the smartest people I know. I’m a huge fan of Barbara and her social commentary/writing. I’d highly recommend you check out some of her publications.

The J. Paige
J. Paige Goodard/J. P. Wickwire is another excellent writer friend and literary genius. She always has something interesting to say. I often find myself lost in thought about something she’s written. I’d highly recommend you read her articles.

Matthew E Nordin
Another excellent writer friend, Matthew is a NaNoWriMo wizard and short story producing master. He also does improv with his friend and his lovely wife. He provides excellent advice and such high doses of enthusiasm that staying near him too long might change you into an optimist.

Chickadee Thoughts
Emily Ramser, poet extraordinaire, has a lovely poetry blog. You should also check out her wonderful new publication, I Forgot How to Write When They Diagnosed Me, available from Weasel Press.

M. Reed McCall, Author
Along with being an excellent author, M. Reed McCall has a way of highlighting the good things in life. In addition to writerly updates and thoughts on good reads, McCall also posts great recipes and beautiful photographs of the natural landscape around her. She is a beautiful soul, so make sure to check out her work.

M.C. Tuggle, Writer
M.C. Tuggle is a writer and blogger that posts interesting links and articles all the time. I always enjoy the content I find on his blog. He also has lots of fiction to check out too!

Annotated Audrey Art
A beautiful mixed media artist, Audrey is always coming up with a new and fascinating creation. Her style is bold, beautiful, and elaborate. Don’t take my word for it, see for yourself!

LTABGreatPlains
This is a fantastic site for young writers and spoken word artists. It is a community that fosters the importance of self-expression through words in young adults. Word prompts, features, and filmed performances may all be found on this excellent blog.

As Told By Chelsei
A poetry blog by another writerly friend, Chelsei weaves poetic magic about a lot of interesting topics.


Nominated bloggers, if you choose to accept the award, please find a list of questions for you to answer below:

  1. Name the title(s) of your favorite book(s).
  2. In your opinion, what came first, the chicken or the egg?
  3. What’s your favorite knock-knock joke?
  4. What’s your favorite artistic genre?
  5. What was your favorite game as a kid?
  6. Name some of your favorite magazines (literary or otherwise).
  7. What writing style annoys you the most?
  8. What writer have you discovered recently?
  9. Why did you choose to start your blog?
  10. Who is most likely to achieve world domination?
  11. Explain yourself! Or just give us a quick quip of what makes you, you.
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

