A Vase of Wildflowers

I'm a writer because I have stage fright.

Attempting to Ascend the Ladder of the Greats

Writing is difficult, publishing your writing is even more so. I’ve won some hard fought victories, but at great cost. Time is the number one cost, money the second. So is it worth it?

Great writers say that it takes perseverance and consistent writing. But I think there is more to it than that. A lot of those great writers were in the right place at the right time, found the right agents, and/or did something seemingly small at the time that affected their whole careers. Those things gave them the edge over your average writer.

Don’t get me wrong though — it still takes perseverance and consistent writing. It takes a lot of bad writing. It takes a lot of humility. It also takes the right people noticing you and giving you a chance.

I believe I only live once, so I’m going after my dream. I don’t resent anyone in this business because they have their own reasons (even if they are misguided and downright wrong) that are based off of their own knowledge of how the industry works. We all have to muddle through together.

My hope is that the two stair steps up I’ve taken will give me a better visual of the top. I also hope it will give me a chance to reach down to the bottom and pull a few others up with me. Whatever happens, I refuse to go back down.

7 comments on “Attempting to Ascend the Ladder of the Greats

  1. Allison
    February 11, 2015

    Great piece! Writing is so difficult, and it’s such a hard road to travel. So much depends on being in the right place at the right time, knowing the right people and having the right connections. It’s tough – you would think finishing your writing project would be the biggest battle, but that isn’t always the case. Like you, though, I’m not backing down – I think that in the end, it’s all worth it because it’s what I’m most passionate about. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • L. N. Holmes
      February 11, 2015

      I think you definitely have the right attitude, Allison. Keep going! 🙂

      Like

  2. johnrsermon
    February 11, 2015

    I agree that timing can be everything for an author. But I believe in taking my time and doing things at my own pace to (hopefully) write something spectacular. Great post as always. Thanks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • L. N. Holmes
      February 11, 2015

      I think every author has to have a sense of what is right for them. Taking more time on a project often times leads to more careful consideration of the material and a superior manuscript. Keep going! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Judy
        February 11, 2015

        Hang tough LeeAnn. Your day, and your break will come when you least expect. That has been my experience.

        Like

      • johnrsermon
        February 12, 2015

        I agree. Whenever I go back to an old story, after maybe three or so months since I finished it, I find changes I can make to improve it. Well, improve it until I go back to it again and do more changes. It’s a wonderful cycle.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 11, 2015 by in My Writing, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
