A Vase of Wildflowers

I'm a writer because I have stage fright.

Artist Interview and Giveaway: Angela Scott

Angela Scott, Anyone?, Evolved Publishing, author, YA, Young Adult, books, novels

Copyright Angela Scott


L. N. Holmes: “Where is your hometown?”
Angela Scott: “My hometown is Farmington, Utah, and I live on the benches of the Wasatch Mountains. I love it.”


L. N. Holmes: “What is your chosen artistic profession?”
Angela Scott: “Writer. I love to write. I love all things artistic, but writing is probably the only artistic thing of which I’m half-decent, though I can draw a pretty mean-looking stick figure and I can finger paint like no other. ”


L. N. Holmes: “Why did you choose to become an author?”
Angela Scott: “I don’t know that I chose it as much as it chose me. I’ve always loved to write and create characters. It wasn’t until I was in junior high when I realized that not everyone has stories and voices floating around in their heads. Pursuing a writing career just seemed the next logical step in the writing process.”


L. N. Holmes: “What messages do you try to convey through your work?”
Angela Scott: “I don’t know that I’ve truly set out to have a ‘message’ per se, but I do think there is a common theme that covers all my books and that’s women or girls surviving hard things, whether it’s zombies or an apocalypse or the harshness of life in general.”


L. N. Holmes: “You are a multi-award winning author. Tell us a bit about some of the awards you’ve won and how they have affected your career.”
Angela Scott: “A list of my awards can be found here.


“I love awards. As a writer, there’s nothing like entering a contest and coming out on top to buoy one’s confidence. Being a writer is an up and down roller coaster ride of emotions, and to have someone say, ‘Hey, your stuff doesn’t suck.’ is a huge thing.


“Because of my awards, I think people are more willing to take a chance on me and my books–even trying out my zombie western books because of the numerous awards they’ve won.”


L. N. Holmes: “Tell the readers a bit about the Zombie West Trilogy.”
Angela Scott: “Oh, the Zombie West Trilogy. I would have to say it’s more of a western love story mixed with an added splash of zombie mayhem for fun. The series is more about the survivors and their growing relationships amid unsurvivable circumstances. The Wild West is hard enough to survive as it is, but then to add in hordes of zombies–it just seems downright unfair.”


L. N. Holmes: “You have a new book published by Evolved Publishing and titled Anyone?, which was released December 1. Tell the readers a bit about it.”
Angela Scott: “This one is zombie-free (sorry about that), but it has been a fun book to write regardless. I decided to play around with the idea of what if it were the end of the world and no one else was around. No one. What if you were a teen on your own? These were just a few of the ideas that got me writing this story and exploring the possibilities.”


L. N. Holmes: “Where do you sell your work?”
Angela Scott: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, iTunes, Kobo, and Evolved Publishing.


L. N. Holmes: “How do you support other artists?”
Angela Scott: “The biggest way I support artists is paying for the items they have created, though legitimate sources. It’s so easy to buy pirated books, music, or films, that it’s a shame. People work hard to create their art, that they should be compensated for it. I wish everyone had that attitude.”


L. N. Holmes: “What’s your biggest complaint about the writing industry?”
Angela Scott: “Hmmm… I’ve got a couple, but really delving into them isn’t going to change a thing other than to put me into the middle of some heated debates. So I will keep those complaints to myself.


“But there are so many wonderful things about the industry that should be celebrated–the online writing community and support, the ability to see your work published regardless if you have an agent or publisher. Never has there been so many opportunities given to writers than there is now. That’s incredible.”


L. N. Holmes: “What/who inspires you?”
Angela Scott: “My family. Their support is incredible, and they’re always trying to get to me write about different ideas they come up with (so far, not many of them have been good). They’re quirky and fun and it’s easy to create a character or situation based off of them.”


L. N. Holmes: “What would you recommend to others attempting to become professional writers?”
Angela Scott: “Keep writing. Make a daily habit of it, and above that, read within your genre. See what is out there and how others are doing it. Also, work on your online presence. I know everyone says to build to a platform, and many scoff at the idea, but it WILL help when it comes time to launch your first book. It’s better to have a following, even it’s a little one, than no following at all.”


Anyone? release celebratory giveaway:

You may enter to win via Rafflecopter here.

Deluxe Mayday Emergency Survival Backpack Kit

apocolypse gear, giveaway, enter to win, Anyone?, Deluxe Mayday Emergency Survival Backpack Kit, copyright Angela Scott

Deluxe Mayday Emergency Survival Backpack Kit
Copyright Angela Scott

Author Signed Copy of ANYONE?

Author Signed Copy of ANYONE?, Angela Scott, YA, dystopian, end of the world

Author Signed Copy of ANYONE?
Copyright Angela Scott

Tabby Kitten Plush

plush toy, cat, Anyone?, Angela Scott, giveaway, win

Tabby Kitten Plush
Copyright Angela Scott

Bracelet

Bracelet, Angela Scott, Anyone?, giveaway, free, win, novel, book, merchandise

Bracelet
Copyright Angela Scott

You may enter to win via Rafflecopter here.

You may also purchase Anyone? at any of these book sellers:
Amazon
Barnes & Noble
iTunes
Kobo


You can follow Angela Scott on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Linkedin, and her blog.


Check out similar artists:

Novelist John Carenen

Poet Rowena Carenen

Poet Emily Ramser

2 comments on “Artist Interview and Giveaway: Angela Scott

  1. Pingback: Book Review and Exclusive Offer: Winter Woven | A Vase of Wildflowers

  2. Pingback: Artist Interview: M. Reed McCall | A Vase of Wildflowers

Leave a Reply

