Thoughts on Mockingjay Part 1

By b.m.a.n. Uploaded by MyCanon (Jennifer Lawrence) [CC-BY-SA-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
By b.m.a.n.

[Jennifer Lawrence, image by b.m.a.n.]

I saw Mockingjay Part 1 last night. It wrecked me. That’s the best way to describe it. The brutalities of war, the pain and the suffering, and the psychological manipulation by the opposing parties were too real.

It did not help that all of Katniss’s fears are my own. I fear the loss of my sister by a force that I cannot control. I fear the endangerment of my family. I fear that I must take sides in international and intimate wars. I fear being forced to chose between people that I love. And I fear that I will not be capable enough to protect those that I love.

Jennifer Lawrence’s performance embodied the Katniss that I knew and admired in the books. While she does not look like the character described, she does deliver when it comes to Katniss’s reluctant heroine role. Her knack for displaying Katniss’s pain was eerily accurate and moved me beyond anything else I’ve ever experienced in film.

I’m impressed with the translation of the story from book to film. The people that created the series have done well to stick to (for the most part) the details described in the books. Like the other films, Mockingjay Part 1 reveals the ugly face of revolution and has you hoping for it anyway. It is an honest, unapologetic film and, because of this, it is hard to watch. You feel Katniss’s agony and by the end of the film my stomach was in knots. I had to hold back tears when (slight spoiler) Katniss spoke at the hospital. The excellent cast enhanced this feeling and the writing (both from Suzanne Collins and the filmmakers) had me wanting to help the “radicals.”

I’d highly recommend this film. Of course, read the books first (in order) and then watch the films in order before viewing this one. *The Hunger Games and Catching Fire are both on Netflix right now.

If you have thoughts on the film, please leave them in the comments (with spoiler warnings if necessary).

*Update: The Hunger Games is no longer available on Netflix.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

