A Vase of Wildflowers

I'm a writer because I have stage fright.

Keeping Up with NaNoWriMo: No Complaints Here

This is my first time participating in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) and I’ve kept up so far. In all fairness, writing full-time is my job. That being said, I find NaNoWriMo to be an interesting challenge. Writing 50,000 words in a month is doable but difficult.

I finished a bit ahead of the daily word count curve last night. I’m unhappy with my descriptions of some of my most important scenes so far, though, so I’ll have to go back and edit that in December. Also, I need to work on some of the characters so they aren’t flat.

I’m excited to introduce the inciting incident today, which will turn my main character’s world upside down. How would you feel if you were forced to leave your home and your family and live with a bunch of privileged people that hate you? That’s what Alexa will be dealing with after I finish the scene I am writing today.

While the novel is coming along okay, I have to make two points that will definitely be unpopular.

First, while NaNoWriMo has a ton of great and supportive events, I find them to be really distracting. I don’t mean to criticize the events. They tend to be fun and exciting as well as encouraging. Still, when I take the time to check the NaNo blog, Facebook page, Twitter, YouTube channel, and main site, I’ve spent way too much time on social media — one of the things I struggle with already as I research the writing industry. I’ve tried to spend less time on these sites to achieve my daily word count goal and only check them during designated times throughout the day.

Second, the amount of complaining is surprising. While I understand that writing is a difficult process, I find complaining about it to be a total waste of energy. Fuel that frustration into your scenes, your characters, separate pieces, writing challenges given on people’s blogs (mine, for example, or Chuck’s terribleminds), crafts, your dinner tonight, whatever. I’m not judging anyone. Social media helps us speak our mind and I respect that. I tend to critique certain aspects of the writing industry. But overall I think we should find ways to fuel our negative energy into positive and productive energy. It makes me want to use the hashtag #NoComplaintsNaNo whenever I write about my novel on Twitter, but it comes off as a little too condescending, so I think I’ll refrain from doing that.

Overall, NaNoWriMo is an enjoyable experience and I’m glad to participate. If I can meet the goal this year, I might seriously consider doing it next year as well. May you all find success on your own individual journeys.


Other NaNoWriMo posts:

4 comments on “Keeping Up with NaNoWriMo: No Complaints Here

  1. Lillith
    November 8, 2014

    You’re right, there’s an aweful lot of complaining over at the forums and on social media. I’m doing NaNo too, but I’ve not been complaining. I’m behind, and that’s fine with me. This is my first year doing full NaNo and I’m going the rebel route starting three separate projects, and in the case of one, finishing another one.

    Novel writing isn’t a race, people seem to forget that during NaNo. If you normally write 2K a day, there’s no need to freak out. Heck, you’ll be done on the 25th is that’s your normal output. No use freaking if you’ve got five days of wiggle room, you know what I mean? Still, that doesn’t keep people from freaking out. I’m thinking of calling it nanoitis.

    Liked by 1 person

    • L. N. Holmes
      November 8, 2014

      I like your diagnosis. I can see “nanoitis” becoming a widely used term! I just cringe because I know freaking out doesn’t usually help when trying to meet a goal. Even if we only write a few sentences, that’s a lot better than when you first started and had nothing. I hope the people that are stressing so much can find an inner peace and continue onward with their craft.

      Like

      • Lillith
        November 8, 2014

        Agreed. It really doesn’t help to work yourself into a fit. If you’re a multiproject person, then do that. Split things into two, that way if you end up with 35k on one and 15K on the other by the end, you’ve still made good headway. A lot of the people seem to be freaking out because they’re forcing themselves to commit fullstop to one story and it makes them nervous. The only way to win is through dedication and doing what works for you. Lot of people remember on and neglect the other.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: The Genre Debate and Why it (Does)n’t Matter | A Vase of Wildflowers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 8, 2014 by in Success, Writing, Writing Ideas and Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , .
