A Vase of Wildflowers

I'm a writer because I have stage fright.

Flash Fiction, Magical Realism, Sci-Fi, Lit Mags?

While researching literary magazines to submit my work to, I’ve run into a snag. As expected, most of these publications have different submission guidelines. What I didn’t expect was how few of these took anything outside of literary fiction, nonfiction, and poetry. Some of my work does qualify for this — but not the majority.

After some extensive research, I found a few magazines that appeared to take flash fiction and sci-fi. I’d like to submit my work to prestigious magazines if possible. I am hoping and praying to have some impressive credentials when I take my book query and manuscript to an agent. While I know it’s not everything to be featured in prestigious publications, it certainly wouldn’t hurt.

If anyone knows of prestigious and well-known literary magazines that take genre fiction or short pieces, would you please let me know in the comments below?

Leave a Reply

