NaNoWriMo Prep: Here We Go

Copyright LeeAnn (Holmes) Adams and L. N. Holmes
Copyright LeeAnn (Holmes) Adams and L. N. Holmes

For those who are unaware of one of the writing world’s greatest writing challenges, NaNoWriMo is the abbreviated nickname for National Novel Writing Month. The nonprofit started in 1999 and has been going strong ever since. NaNoWriMo is a challenge to the industry professional and the average Joe alike. For the entire month of November, the participant must write until they reach 50,000 words — roughly novel length. Those that reach this goal are “winners.”

Many authors have found their start because of NaNoWriMo. Popular authors like Sara Gruen (Water for Elephants), Erin Morgenstern (The Night Circus), and Hugh Howey (Wool) are just a few listed under traditional publishers. Many more have been published by small presses, have self-published and have been published in languages other than English.

This will be my first year as a participant and I am excited. I know I can write the necessary amount of words a day — I’ve already done that with my current novel manuscript. So now all that is left is some planning before the fated first day of the month. I don’t like to do extensive outlines because I tend to change many things as I write. I have an idea: a mix of magical realism, sci-fi, and dystopian with nods to some classic stories. I also have a vague idea of the makeup of the main character. Hopefully I can create a believable tale that is both realistically dark and inspiringly hopeful.

Wish me a blessed journey and may all the other writers reach their goals!

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: Keeping Up with NaNoWriMo: No Complaints Here | A Vase of Wildflowers

Leave a Reply

